Thursday/ the six kingdoms

Swedish botanist Carl Linnaeus (1707–1778) defined only two kingdoms for organisms in 1735 – animals and ‘vegetables’ (plants). But mushrooms are not plants : they cannot make their own food.

Soon after, the microscope ushered in discoveries that ultimately led to the six recognized kingdoms of living creatures today :
Bacteria (bacteria; their cells have no nucleus),
Protista (single-cell organisms),
Chromista (algae),
Plantae (plants, shrubs and giant Sequoia trees),
Fungi (mushrooms, yeasts, molds) and
Animalia (worms, insects, birds, fish, whales, salt-water sponges, star fish, sea cucumbers, animals and humans*).    *Yes, we are animals, every one of us!

I suppose when alien creatures from outer space land on Earth we can add a seventh kingdom !

It’s a beauty .. time again for the fly agaric mushrooms (Amanita muscaria) to appear in the soil and pine needles in my back yard.
Here’s a view from the top. No touching! No eating! The mushroom is psychoactive (consuming it leads to hallucinations)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *